WhatsApp: Now you can decide who can add you to group chat


No more joining WhatsApp groups without your permission


By Huzraifah Atikah

Have you ever been in a situation where all of a sudden you were added to a group chat out of no where?

Annoying, isn't it?

Well, with this new feature on WhatsApp you no longer have to go through that situation. 

WhatsApp has recently announced that you can decide who can add you to any group chat.

But first, you may need to update your WhatsApp to the latest version and then follow these few steps.

To enable it, open your WhatsApp and go to Settings, then tap Account > Privacy > Groups.


After that, you can select one of three options: "Nobody", "My Contacts", or "Everyone". 

For example, "Nobody" means you'll have to approve joining every group to which you're invited, and "My Contacts" means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

In those cases, the person adding you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. 

So, you'll have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

With these new features as well, WhatsApp users will have more control over the group messages they receive.

However, these new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting Apr 3 onward. 

Be informed that, for those who still haven't receive this latest update for their WhatsApp, this feature will be available worldwide in the coming weeks.